The District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, operating pursuant to Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code, as amended. The District was created by an order of the Texas Water Rights Commission, predecessor to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (the “TCEQ”) dated December 3, 1974, and confirmed at an election held within the District on April 3, 1976. The District currently encompasses approximately 2,830 acres of land.

The District is located approximately 25 miles northwest of the central business district of the City of Houston, Texas and is located entirely within Houston’s exclusive extraterritorial jurisdiction. A portion of the District is located in the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District and the remaining portion of the District is located in the Tomball Independent School District. Access to the District is by U.S. Highway 290 to Spring-Cypress Road.

District Map

Water Information

Please contact the district’s water operator to set up new service. Click here to see all your water operator’s service and billing information.

Trash Information

The district’s trash operator has many guidelines you should look into. Click here to see all of your trash operator’s guidelines and pick up information.

Safety Information

NWHCMUD No. 5 has your safety as a top priority, employing 13
constables. Please click here for further information regarding safety in the district.

Tax Information

The district’s tax assessor’s website allows you to find and pay your taxes. Please click here to visit the tax assessor’s website to pay your tax bill.

Parks/Trails Info

Northwest Harris County Municipal Utility District No. 5 urges you to get outside! Click here for information about our district’s trails and parks.